Skip to content ↓

Organisation of the Academy

The school day begins at 8.50am and ends at 3.00pm.

The morning session is divided into two lessons with a break in between.

Lesson 3 takes the students up to lunch.

There are three lunch sittings, at 12.00pm, 12.30pm and 1.00pm.

Lesson 4 ends at 3.00pm, when the students begin leaving for home.

To find more precise details of how the school day is structured for your child, including the day/time of assemblies and PE/swimming, please speak to their class teacher.


We are divided into two departments:

Primary ~ Early Years to the end of Year 6

Secondary ~ Years 7 - 14

Each department is divided into 'Key Stage' teams. The term 'Key Stage' refers to the way the national curriculum is divided. 

Key stage 1 ~ Reception - Year 2 

Key stage 2 ~ Year 3 - 6

Key stage 3 ~ Year 7 - 9

Key stage 4 ~ Year 10 - 11

Sixth Form (Key stage 5) ~ Year 12 - 14


Classes are determined by "Learning Pathway". 

For more information on "Learning Pathway's" see our Curriculum page and click 'Curriculum Statement'. 

Information about school's approach to the curriculum can be found in the Curriculum Policy on the Policies page. For further details about the curriculum taught in a particular class, please contact the individual class teacher.

Courses available to pupils at Key Stage 4

  • Functional Skills Maths – Level 1, Entry Level 1,2,3
  • Functional Skills English – Level 1, Entry Level 1,2,3
  • BTEc Food Studies
  • BTEc Performing Arts
  • BTEc Construction
  • BTEc Hair and Beauty
  • BTEc Sport and Active
  • Open Road – Motor Vehicle Maintenance
  • BTEC Workskills
  • Entry Level Science Award

Click here to view our Curriculum